2009 Harvey Awards Winners

From Baltimore Comic-Con, we have this year’s winners of the prestigious comics awards show.

Last night at Baltimore Comic-Con saw the 2009 Harvey Awards Ceremony, named after Harvey Kurtzman, along with the Eisners, these are the most prestigious awards in the Comics Biz, and here is a list of all the winners this year!

Best Letterer: John Workman for Marvel 1985

Best Colourist: Dave Stewart for Umbrella Academy

Best Syndicated Strip or Panel: Mutts by Patrick McDonnell

Best Online Comic: High Moon by David Gallaher and Steve Ellis

Best American Edition of Foreign material: Gus and His Gang by Chris Blain

Best Inker: Mark Morales for Thor

Best New Series: Terry Moore’s Echo

Best Graphic Album – Previously Published: Nat Turner by Kyle Baker

Special Award for Humour in Comics: Al Jaffee for Tall Tales

Best New Talent: Bryan JL Glass from Mice Templar

Best Anthology: Comic Book Tattoo

Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation: Kirby: King Of Comics by Mark Evanier

Best Reprint: Complete Peanuts

Best Cover Artist: James Jean for Fables

Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: Kirby: King Of Comics By Mark Evanier

Best Original Graphic Novel: Too Cool To Be Forgotten by Alex Robinson

HERO Initiative Humanitarian Award: Neal Adams

Best Continuing or Limited Series: All-Star Superman by Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely

Best Writer: Grant Morrison for All-Star Superman

Best Artist: Gabriel Ba for Umbrella Academy

Best Cartoonist: Al Jaffee for Tall Tales

Best Single Issue or Story: Y: The Last Man #60 by Brian K Vaughan and Pia Guerra

A big Outhouse congratulations to all the winners and nominees! Check out CBR’s Robot 6 for a live blog from the event.

Syndicated from The Outhouse – Comic Community Run By Fanboys, For Fanboys
Posted originally: 2009-10-11 08:48:37

About Post Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *